3242

by cloudier

This is a long post entirely about manga.

1. How to quit reading manga:

  • Use Google Chrome for reading manga and download this extension.
  • Use the extension to read manga until you cannot read manga any other way. (It formats a whole chapter into one long page and it is so convenient.)
  • Uninstall the extension when you want to stop reading manga

2.

Tower of God. I don’t know why I like this because I generally dislike action. I suppose it’s different because most battles in this series actually contribute to an intriguing plot and develops important cross-arc characters – recently I read a run-of-the-mill shōnen called Magico. Character development is a privilege seemingly available only for characters that exist for one arc. (Or maybe it hasn’t run for long enough for it’s plot to reach it’s use-by date – there are plenty of unanswered questions and mysteries. In contrast, Bleach was good at first. Now, arcs are only set up when they are needed rather than from the beginning of the series, which is tedious and boring.) The story is extremely interesting, and it compensates for the bearable artwork.

The World Only God Knows (Kami no Mizo Shiru Sekai). I think this is the best harem manga I have ever read, and it’s mostly because of the leading character. Also Chihiro is much cuter in the anime.

Kagami no Kuni no Harisugawa. It’s an enjoyable and well-rounded romance-comedy even though there’s nothing particularly special about it. I feel the same way about Seishun Forget. One of the best things about both of these is that the plot moves forward fairly quickly.

Maoyuu (Maou Yuusha) “Be mine, Hero.” “I refuse!”. Note that there are two other versions by different mangakas on equal standing – all are adaptations of a successful light novel. I suppose I like it because it’s unusual and hilarious. Additionally, it’s more serious content is friendly enough for casual reading, unlike, for example, Amatsuki (although that is a rather extreme, and extremely beautiful, example – don’t read it unless you’re willing to read it all in one go).

14-sai no Koi. Oh my gosh, this is the most adorable thing I have seen this year. Instead of letting you in on all the noise running through the heroine’s head, this romance is comparatively muted. The art is cool, even though I don’t think it’s very pretty. I love how the mangaka sometimes uses images to convey thoughts or feelings instead of words. I hope it doesn’t turn out retarded…like Switch Girl.

3. Holy shit, when did Medaka Box become so good? I think I might pick it up again.

