australia’s carbon tax

by bezzle

To be honest, I’m a little scared of doing more current-day issues sort of rants now.  I get the feeling I’m talking about things I don’t understand, or that I’m just being anal, or that I’m the only one with this sort of opinion.  But back to the topic in the title.

Our kitchen has a TV.  I attribute this to my dad’s love of television.  So he’s in the kitchen, watching Seven News.  At a very loud volume.  And I walk by and he starts ranting about how Australians are stupid about being against the carbon tax, and I have to say it was quite persuading.

My dad uses a very communist approach to this xD  He says that the nation is basically a family, that everybody has to contribute (i.e. in the form of taxes), or else we’d end up like Hong Kong, with no tax except for a 15% income tax, and no social security, medicare, etc. so why should we argue against one form of taxation when we’re going to get another in its stead?  And, of course, the whole ‘only the polluters pay’ thing.  Also, that taxes and the cost of living is going up anyway, what’s the point of disputing an emissions tax?  This I’m not too sure about though.

I’m not sure why I bothered to mention that, mainly because it was the first time I saw my dad talk passionately about something political :O

Another thing I kinda want to burble about is makeup.

You know what, stuff it.  I am not going to talk about makeup, because I would be an utter hypocrite.  All I want to say is: double check with a mirror if your cosmetic product is having its intended effect.

Overnight, I think my dad deleted windows messenger from my computer.  I obviously want to reinstall it, but I’m wondering how long it’d take for him to notice D:

edit: WHO ELSE IS HATING THE DIRECTION OF KIMI NO IRU MACHI?  HOW THE HELL CAN HARUTO GO BACK TO EBA?  WHEN HE HAD A PERFECT GIRLFRIEND IN ASUKA AND THE MOST STUPID THING IS THAT WE KNEW IT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN, THE PAST TWENTY CHAPTERS HAVE JUST BEEN THEM IN COMPROMISING (NOT PHYSICAL) SITUATIONS ==  ARGH I AM VERY VERY ANNOYED.  ANGRY OTAKU D<

another edit: this font is stupid.  It made my rant look flowery.  FLOWERY!

