linkdump 3

by cloudier

All for one and one for all: police fail the attitude test – Chris Graham

I have a close relative who is a retired cop, and whom I respect and admire greatly. As a former police reporter, I love hearing his stories from his time “in the job”. We’ll often trade yarns about exceptionally stupid things that exceptionally stupid people have done. It makes for an interesting evening’s conversation.

Many of his stories – the ones worth telling at least – start with what police term “the attitude test”.

Basically, if you’re polite to police, you pass. You’ll be treated respectfully and fairly. But if you’re a smart ass, you fail. Guess what comes next …

The problem with the test is that being rude is not actually a criminal offence.

Hand Cut Map Art by Karen O’Leary

Africa: Lightning Kills Football Team [dated Oct 28, 1998]

All 11 members of a football team were killed by a bolt of lightning which left the other team unhurt, a Congolese newspaper has reported. Thirty other people received burns at the match in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

On piracy

It’s morally right to attempt to destroy economic models that are out to fuck you.

I live in Australia and to put it succinctly, we get fucked across the board on books, television, DVD, movies, software (all types) …

If you are an Australian Kindle user you have access to only a fraction of the Kindle catalogue. Why? Because business groups cut the world into pieces and if they can’t get the high price they want here then they don’t allow sales. So I try to buy books online and I can’t.

To television – Family Guy had an episode on atheism and when it came out in the US up started all the online conversations. I would have loved to be part of these conversations but because of an artificial delay (people still think everything comes to our country by boat) I can’t be. I’m completely locked out of the social connectivity of the world unless I pirate. There was no place or person I could give my money to so I could obtain that episode.

This is something you really haven’t considered: in some cases there is literally no legal avenue for accessing content.

music

Virgins by The Morning Benders

Logos by Atlas Sound

Jumpin Jive – Cab Calloway and the Nicholas Brothers

