chocolate fudge self-saucing pudding

by bezzle

Here’s some more random detritus from my jumbled life at the moment – like a snapshot? 

What I’m making:

I used a slightly different recipe from a puddings cookbook, but there’s a copyright on it, so here’s a substitute.

 

BAKED CUSTARD

Ingredients:

1 litre milk (full cream will give a richer taste)

4cm piece of vanilla bean or 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence

6 eggs (at room temperature)

2 egg yolks (at room temperature)

1/2 cup caster sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

 

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.  Grease a 1.5L dish with a height of at least 5cm.  Also, a roasting dish or larger oven dish should be lined with a tea towel.  Place the 1.5L into the roasting dish (it should fit quite easily).

Pour the milk in a saucepan and add vanilla seeds (inside bean) then place on medium heat uncovered for 5 minutes.  Cool milk for 5 minutes after heating, so as to not cook the eggs when they are added.  If using vanilla essence, after the 5 minutes cooling, add.

Using a fork, mix all the eggs, egg yolks and sugar.  Gradually pour in the milk, while whisking.  Then strain the mixture to remove any large particles (such as vanilla seeds).  Pour into the 1.5L dish.  Sprinkle the nutmeg on top of the custard mixture.

After putting roasting dish (with the smaller dish in it) on the middle shelf of the oven, fill the roasting dish with boiling water till it reaches halfway up the smaller dish.  This method of using two dishes, with the outer one holding water, is called bain-marie, or water-bath.

Reduce the oven temperature to 140 degrees.  Bake for 45-55 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the custard comes out clean or with some soft set custard clinging on.  Cool for 5 minutes.

from taste.com.au

 

What I’m reading:

-A puddings cookbook.  Half the fun is just looking at the pictures in a cookbook, and especially with a desserts one.  I just wish Mum wasn’t so paranoid about ‘fatty’ foods, and that I could use a full tub of cream without it going to waste.  *siiiigh…  It all looks so TASTY.  And nostalgic.  LIKE RICE PUDDING.  I LOVED THAT STUFF WHEN I ATE IN PRESCHOOL.

-Various manga.  I’ve ‘finished’:

Shiawase kissa sanchoume – Uru’s smile is SO CUTE.  AND THAT LOCK OF HAIR THAT STANDS UP.  They all fall in love with her; it’s a love square ==”

Akuma to love song – Hana reminds me of Annie, from the movie Annie.  Just more evil.

1/2 Prince – I like this one especially.  It’s so random, especially in the latest chapter, where Prince asks her childhood friend how to pee as a guy.  To explain that would be too long, just read it.  Very funny :D

Vampire knight – I ended up rereading the last 10 chapters or so, because I thought I hadn’t finished reading it but it turned out I did.  Musing: why don’t vampires ever crack jokes or laugh?

Kaichou wa maid sama! – this is another really good one.  Gosh, I need to learn more adjectives.  But I especially love the three idiots.  They’re so….idiotic :D  And Usui+Misaki is just pure awesome :) :) :) 

Ouran high school host club – I remember watching the first ep in Japanese in class once, and ended up watching the rest of the anime, then read the manga.  Another awesome one for laughs.

Perfect girl evolution – I love chibi-Sunako.  The setting is a lot like Ouran; Sunako is forced to live with four HOT guys and they attempt to transform her into a lady, etc. And she and the main guy (the hottest guy out of the four – he can’t even hold down a job because he gets sexually harrassed by his bosses of both sexes!) form a superhuman team whenever working with each other, a LOT like Usui+Misaki…

Hana ni arashi – out of all the others I’ve read, the only complete one.  9 chapters, it wasn’t that interesting, but of course you can’t have major plot in such a short span…

Yes I realise all are shoujo manga, I did read a bit of Fairy Tail, but I think my attention got diverted, and sometimes the art is hard to read and ‘messy’ to me.  Also the popular ones like Naruto, Bleach and One Piece are just too long.  I’m kinda pedantic about starting a manga from the first chapter and not reading any other till I finish the one I’m on, so reading those would be quite problematic.

– 206 bones.  I wonder how long Kathy Reichs is gonna continue the Temperance Brennan series – I like it though.

– random fanfics, when I can tear myself away from manga xD

What I’m listening to:

Lady GaGa fan stuff!  I love it when I find songs that aren’t released as singles that are really good!  And this one is no exception – it’s like all of her other well-known songs; electro pop.  Like the other songs on her second album, it’s a bit darker.  Just listen to the chorus!

He ate my heart;

he a-a-ate my heart;

he ate my heart.

Off to go back up my netbook and do that ag speech I’ve been procrastinating~

And we musn’t forget the controversial Victor’s quote corner!  I give up on typing ‘shameless plug’ each time, so SP from now on :D

“The world is a tragedy to those who feel, but a comedy to those who think.”
Horace Walpole (1717 – 1797)

